

Dear Rhode Island Works Participants:

DHS wants to let you know of a change to the Rhode Island Works (RIW) program. Participants will now be able to continue their RIW benefits for 48 months without interruption. This is because there was a change in RI State Law affecting the Rhode Island Works (RIW) time limits as of January 1, 2020*. One of the two time limits is being retired. The 24-month time limit is going away.

When: The change takes effect on January 1, 2020.

What do you have to do?

If you are not on hardship and do not have an employment plan ending on or before December 31, 2019, you don't have to do anything.

<u>Only those participants who are on hardship and have an employment plan ending on or before</u> <u>December 31, 2019 will have to act</u>.

If you will be on hardship in December 2019 and your plan is going to end on or before December 31, 2019, you will be sent a follow-up letter. You will need a new employment plan in order to stay on RIW after December 2019.

How can I get a new plan?

- Go to your DHS office and update your employment plan with a DHS Employment and Career Advisor (ECA).
- Schedule an appointment with an ECA by calling 401-415-8207 and leave a detailed message including your name, and phone number. DHS will contact you for an appointment.
- Speak with your RIW vendor (ResCare, CAP Agencies, South Shore, DLT, Etc.) about opportunities to visit with an ECA.

How do I get more information?

- Speak to the organization who oversees your employment plan (ResCare, CAP Agencies, South Shore, DLT, Etc.) and ask questions about the time limit ending.
- Go onto the DHS website, DHS is placing more information about the time limit ending on our website: <u>www.dhs.ri.gov</u> or <u>http://www.dhs.ri.gov/Programs/RIWorksProgramInformation.php</u>

Can you still receive RIW after 48 months?

Yes, hardship extensions may be approved if:

- a parent has a documented significant physical or mental incapacity, can document a pending application for SSI or SSDI, and has applied for or is already active and making progress in his/her employment plan with the Office of Rehabilitation Services; or
- a parent is caring for a significantly disabled family member who resides in the home and requires full time care; or
- a parent is homeless as defined in Rhode Island Works Program Rules and Regulations Section 2.2 A. 18 (for example: living in a homeless shelter, a motel for fewer than 90 days, under court order to vacate, etc.); or
- a parent is unable to pursue employment because of a current, documented domestic violence situation; or
- a parent is unable to work because of a critical other condition or circumstance, other than citizenship or alienage status, as approved by a DHS.

Who does NOT have to act?

- If your employment plan is active past December 31, 2019.
- If your plan is longer than December and you are not on hardship in December 2019.
- If your plan is longer than December and you are on hardship but your total time on RIW is over 48 months, you do not need to act for this change.

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT THIS NOTICE, OR ABOUT EITHER RIW TIME LIMIT, PLEASE CONTACT YOUR DHS OFFICE AT 1-855-MY-RIDHS (1-855-697-4347).

*RIGL 40-5.2-10(H)